h1

33 Non-Rock Songs I’d Like To See In Rock Band 3: Part 2 + Peripherals

June 23, 2010

Image from Harmonix

Now we continue into my working list of hip-hop, R&B, funk, disco, electronic, dance, and pop songs that I would like to see in the Rock Band series.

Here’s part 1!

Before we get to the main list, I’d like to write a concern I have about Rock Band 3: peripherals. Now don’t get me wrong: I’m pumped about the keyboard. Because of that instrument expansion I feel like I can write these lists and have them not be mere pipe dreams. Plus it looks like the playing experience will be crazy fun. My concern is in the price and over-featuring of the new instruments. In the push to continuously up their game in the peripheral department and appease the series’ most vocal semi-serious musician fanbase, the new guitar and keyboard peripherals from Mad Catz and Fender appear capable of doing a lot, including doubling as real instruments and midi controllers. While this is cool if you’re into music production or if you are seriously convinced to pick up a real instrument, I feel like this isn’t going to appeal to the silent majority of more casual players, especially a majority with reduced disposable income. I like my instrument controllers to be responsive and last more than 12 months, but I doubt I’ll be getting into serious jamming, and I doubt that I’m the only one of that opinion. I’ll likely snap up RB3 pretty early into its release, but I’ll probably wait awhile until the keyboard drops in price before buying one. That being said, let’s get down to more of what I’d like to see in-game: a little trip-hop, a little g-funk, and of course, the legendary MJ.

The full list is after the jump:

The Roots ft. Cody ChestnuTT – “The Seed 2.0”

ABBA – “Gimme Gimme Gimme (A Man After Midnight)”

Rihanna ft. Jeezy – “Hard”

Flock of Seagulls – “I Ran (So Far Away)”

B.o.B. ft. Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ On You”

Sneaker Pimps – “6 Underground (Nellee Hooper Edit)”

Fatboy Slim ft. Lateef – “Wonderful Night”

Peaches – “Boys Wanna Be Her”

Snoop Dogg – “Gin & Juice”

M.I.A. – “Paper Planes”

Michael Jackson – “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’”

One comment

  1. […] Here’s part 3 into my working list of hip-hop, R&B, funk, disco, electronic, dance, and pop songs that I would like to see in the Rock Band series. Here are parts 1 and 2! […]



Leave a Reply

