h1

The Latest Crazy

May 19, 2010

In America, new media, including music, comes out on Tuesday. A new batch of records has hit today, but that’s not what I want to talk about today.

Today I want to talk about a new batch of crazy stuff that has been going on in the music world.

First, did you know Charles Miner was a rapper? It’s news to me! I know there have been many rappers, including Mos Def, Ice Cube, and Ludacris, who have made solid transitions into acting from their main hip-hop careers. However, the reverse is rarer. How many actors (or athletes for that matter) can you name who have gone onto commercial success and/or commercial credibility as MCs?

Honestly I think King Driis’s song has a neat organ beat and his accent rides nicely over the sun-scorched riddim. The video doesn’t aim for too much, but it’s a solid party. And hey, dude was in RocknRolla.

It’s at least as good as when Boy George made a dancehall record.

In other news, Lady Gaga is hitting the job market! Specifically, she has applied for an internship with milliner (a kind of hatmaker) Philip Treacy. PT has a record for crazy high fashion haberdashery, and Ms. Germanotta is no stranger to the fashionably freaky, so from my perspective of ignorance, they seem like a good match. I just feel bad for the other aspiring interns because no one can compete with Lady Gaga for an open job. You could be interviewing for a software engineering position at Oracle and all the credentials in the world won’t stop the Gaga from knocking you out of the box.

Finally, David Shields has a new book, Reality Hunger, that is composed almost entirely of quotes from other written works. What does this have to do with music? Marco Roth’s really long review of the book at n+1 doesn’t make the comparison directly, but it reminded of reviews I read about sample-based albums like DJ Shadow’s Endtroducing and The Avalanches’ Since I Left You, albeit in a more critical light of the idea of crate digging. The book is generating controversy and I find myself on the fence about giving it a go. While I regularly listen to music comprised of samples and have engaged in making mashups and bootleg remixes myself, I find myself hesitating to buy a copy and I think that has to do with the medium of books. While the remix culture of the internet has made music, film, and video games easy to revise and repackage, is the same true with the written word?

Leave a Reply

